We don't bite…unless you're into that sort of thing

Masochistic Tendencies

Let me make a list:
  1. Shins hurting,
  2. forearms feeling swollen,
  3. toes and balls of my feet rubbed raw,
  4. stubbed finger,
  5. deltoids and pectorals throbbing,
  6. calves stiffening, and
  7. fear of having strained a groin muscle.

Welcome to the rewards of my first week as a martial artist.

Finally decided to get off my ass, stop watching legally sanctioned murder in the form of MMA and kick-boxing, and get back to training karate.

That catalogue of injuries above is not exaggerated in anyway. And I’ve been enduring them since the first class.

Why have I not quit then, you ask? Coz I enjoy the pain! 😀 I’m reveling in flexing each muscle just to feel the dull throb. Rubbing my hands up and down my forehands just a little bit harder than necessary to see if the swelling has gone down.

And that leads to a REVELATION! Or more like a confirmation if you ask others (Don’t. They’re all biased).

I might be a masochist. The occasional nipple tweak aside, I never thought I was into the whole pain is pleasure thing. But the way my brain is interpreting my body’s complaints has me thinking different.

Sooo, anyone up for an afternoon of light S&M to test the theory?

2 responses

  1. Really? A revelation?

    Even YOU know that’s a lie. It can’t even be called a confirmation. It’s more like you’re coming out of denial.

    Anyway, do massage those calves. God knows they hurt like hell.

    February 10, 2011 at 6:09 am

    • Aggrey

      Yes it’s a revelation. Like I said, a tweak is one thing, all out pain is something else.
      The massaging of my calves can only be done by the soft hands of a lady friend. It’s the law.

      February 11, 2011 at 12:04 am

Leave a Reply

